Men At War – (Sexual Purity)

Last night was the annual “Men At War” mini-conference at Harvest Bible Chapel in Rolling Meadows, Illinois. The topic was Sexual Purity, the event was offered at no charge, and Senior Pastor James MacDonald led us in two in-depth teachings on sexual purity as it applies to men. There was also worship with HBC’s worship band, and the night ended with an open basketball tourney in the gymnasium.

I would very much like to thank my brothers in Christ who went with me to this event, all of the men who attended the event, and Harvest Bible Chapel for putting it on. Much of the event was very last minute, the weather was not helpful, and still I would say that there were prolly around 1500 in attendance. Praise God.

The night was not recorded in any way by HBC so that no one would have cause for privacy concerns, and I would never violate the sanctity of that mutual agreement among me and my brothers. That said, there are insights that I can openly share here (as well as in person) that are wonderfully useful to all men of God, and in what I will share here, to all women of God as well.

1) Fruits Of True Repentance:

  • Real personal grieving over our sin
  • A genuine repulsion toward our sin
  • Restitution as fully as possible
  • A revival toward God by us
  • A moving forward in our walk in the area of our sin
Honesty with ourselves is key, as we all know, there is far too much “easy grace” running through the body of Christ, and that only leads us all to further failure, desperation, and unchanged lives that are not honoring to God.

Over the years that I’ve been blessed by the ministry of James MacDonald, I have heard him say time and time again that when we choose to sin, we choose to suffer. Last night he repeated this point several times. I wholeheartedly agree with him on this.

“Choose to sin – Choose to suffer”


2) Real Accountability:

Christians talk a great game about being accountable to one another, especially within the culture of small groups; but for the most part it is baloney, and the majority of what is pointed to as accountability is just window dressing. The points below illustrate how we generally approach the process of being accountable to one another (and of course thereby to God as well). It is only the last one of the four that is really true, righteous accountability.

  1. Honesty – “I yelled at my kid again this week, I was mean to the dog, I gave my boss the finger when his back was turned.” The majority never get past this point.
  2. Total Honesty – “Oh man!! What until you hear just how badly I screwed up this week guys! I suck so much!” A portion of us get this far in, and we see that as real accountability. It’s better for sure, but not something to be patting ourselves on the back about, and not a place where we should put our feet up and get comfortable.
  3. Obedience – “The next time you smack your kid in the head, we’re going to kick your guts in! Got it?” And you agree and say, “Thanks for loving me so much guys” and you do stop the behavior. As effective as this can be, it doesn’t get used very much (thankfully).
  4. Appropriate Consequences For Disobedience – (1) Loss Of Freedoms – In some circumstances. (2) Loss Of Confidentiality – “If you do not stop, I will tell the person that needs to know, because I cannot allow you to hurt yourself or others”. (3) Loss Of Relationship – “If you do not turn from this, we are done, finished. I can’t and I won’t continue to walk with you”. This last one is the hardest one for us to do, one on one as people, or bodily as a church, but it is absolutely biblical (1Corinthians 5). There comes a point when we must turn someone away from us because they will not repent.

That fourth tier is the hardest to achieve, but it is the only one that really brings us into truly accountable relationships with one another and with Christ. The definition of “Loss Of Freedoms” should be more clearly defined, but at present I can’t think of the one that Pastor James gave, nor come to one of my own that is suitable.

Lastly, I would like to share a list of 10 verses/sections of scripture that we should use as a guide in living lives of sexual purity before God. In fact, with the exception of only a few verses, this list works very well for pursuing a life of holiness and purity before God overall, not just regarding sexual matters.

3) Sexual Purity Checklist of 10 Key Scriptures/Passages:

  1. Psalm 119:9 (cleanse my way = by listening to God)
  2. Psalm 119:11 (hide thy word = memorize the scriptures)
  3. Proverbs 28:13 (covereth his sins = hiding sin brings failure)
  4. 2Corinthians 12:9-11 (when I am weak = God only gives me strength)
  5. Romans 13:11-14 (make not provision = stay fully away from temptations)
  6. 1Peter 3:7 (dwell with them = love and honor your wife in all ways)
  7. Judges 16:20 (he knew not = not even realize that you aren’t with God any longer)
  8. Galatians 6:7 (God is not mocked = ‘Nuff said!)
  9. 1Corinthians 10:13 (not suffer you to = God always gives us a way out)
  10. Galatians 2:20 (Christ liveth in me = I live by faith of Him)

That last verse is one of my own life-verses. There are so many verses that impact my life and walk, but the two that stand at the top are Galatians 2:20 and Philippians 1:21. I’m going to add a second post after this one that lists the actual verses in full; while we should all have a Bible ready for our needs at all times, having it this way, may make it a little easier for someone to cut-n-paste a copy of it already in a listed format to print, email, etc.

peace/faith/hope/love

serloren

Leviticus 21:15 Neither shall he profane his seed among his people: for I the LORD do sanctify him.

Leave a Reply

