75-80% of Americans profess to be Christians, but…added refrain

In my most recent post I had stated (in reference to John 3) that:

“So what it actually says is “born of water”, referring to physical birth, of his mother’s womb, whose water breaks in the process of childbirth. That is being born. Born again it says, is being “of the Spirit” reborn, regenerated by God, filled (in-dwelt) with the Holy Spirit: Saved. As Jesus said “born of the flesh is flesh”, and “born of the Spirit is spirit”; not baptised of the flesh is flesh and baptised of the Spirit is spirit.”

A person whose opinions I hold in high regard mentioned that they felt I was incorrect that Jesus was referring to physical birth at all in the passage, and explained why they felt so. I explained why I think as I do, and that it was okay that we disagreed on this point in this situation. We both agreed that none of us are perfect, and we both have heard others make statements that we disagreed with about more important topics of verse.

I’ve been thinking a bit about it since then, and find that while I stand by my thoughts on the topic, maybe the problem was one of misunderstanding one another, and if so, that was likely by my doing a poor job of explaining my stance. Given that very real possibility, I’ve decided to add this secondary post in which I directly quote a passage from Adam Clarke’s Commentary On The Bible that is in regards to the section of the Book of John, Chapter 3 in question.

Every man must have two births, one from heaven, the other from earth – one of his body, the other of his soul: without the first he cannot see nor enjoy this world, without the last he can not see nor enjoy the kingdom of God. As there is an absolute necessity that a child should be born into the world, that he may see its light, contemplate its glories, and enjoy its good, so there is an absolute necessity that the soul should be brought out of its state of darkness and sin, through the light and power of the grace of Christ, that it may be able to see, ιδειν, or, to discern, the glories and excellencies of the kingdom of Christ here, and be prepared for the enjoyment of the kingdom of glory hereafter.

Leave a Reply

